Skip to main content

Removing holds

This guide explains how to remove a customer's membership hold, either individually from the customer profile or in bulk, and what to check before deleting a hold.

Written by Costa Bontioti

📝 Overview

The Hold function allows you to set a time period where the customer's membership is not valid for class bookings, and all billing is also put on hold.

This guide covers removing a hold entirely, for instance because the hold is not needed anymore.

💡 If you need to edit an existing hold instead, to change the start or end date, see the guide on editing or ending holds in bulk here, or the individual hold guide here.


🗑️ Remove a Hold

There are two ways to delete a hold: individually from the customer's profile, or in bulk using the Bulk Edit/End Holds tool.

Click the arrow to learn more about removing holds

Method 1: Individually (From the Customer Profile)

Follow these steps to remove a hold for an individual customer. Head to Customers ➜ Customer List ➜ search the customer ➜ click the desired membership below their name:

Memberships With a Set End Date

If the membership has set end dates, you will see the following options, and you can click on Edit/End this hold.

On the next page, you will be asked to confirm the hold start dates, end dates, and expiry date.


Memberships With an Open-Ended Hold

If the hold is open ended, you will see the option to set the end date, delete the hold, or edit the hold.

⚠️ If you delete the hold, no prorates are calculated on payments or class usage allowance for partial months. If you need to adjust payments and/or usage, we suggest editing the hold instead. See 'Edit a hold' in the individual hold guide here.

💡 For the full picture of how holds affect billing, including how prorated amounts are calculated when a hold is edited rather than deleted, see the guide here.


Method 2: In Bulk (Using the Bulk Edit/End Holds Tool)

This tool allows you to quickly end existing holds in bulk immediately. The tool can act on any hold that is either active or starting in the future, regardless of how that hold was created.

💡 For detailed instructions on how to use this tool to delete existing holds, see the guide here.

⚠️ After ending a hold via the bulk edit tool, no prorates are calculated on payments or class usage allowance for partial months.

If you want to make other adjustments to payments either side of the hold period, you will have to do this manually by adding an ad-hoc payment to each customer's membership.


❓ Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Find answers to common questions or additional details that may not be covered in the main instructions.

Click the arrow to view frequently asked questions

Are prorates calculated when I delete or end a hold?

Click the arrow to see the answer

No. Whether you delete a hold individually or end holds via the bulk tool, no prorates are calculated on payments or class usage allowance for partial months. If you need to adjust payments or usage, edit the hold instead, or add an ad-hoc payment to the customer's membership.

Can I extend the expiration dates for packs and prepaid plans?

Click the arrow to see the answer

Yes, you can use the bulk extend tool under Memberships ➜ Membership Tools to add days to your packs and prepaid plans. For more information on how to use this tool, see the guide here.

How can I adjust billing dates after removing a hold?

Click the arrow to see the answer

If you are looking to push forward your customers' billing dates after the hold, see the guide on changing the billing date for all your customers here.

Did this answer your question?