Skip to main content

🎥 How to delete a membership (w/ VIDEO)

This guide explains how to delete a membership that has never been purchased, and what to do instead when a membership cannot be deleted.

Written by Costa Bontioti

📝 Overview

In this guide, we take a look at how to remove memberships you no longer need from your active memberships list. This can be done by deleting them if they have never been purchased, or by archiving them as not for sale if they had or have active members.


🎥 Video Walkthrough


🛠️ Delete a Membership

If a membership has never been purchased, it can be deleted instantly from the membership details page. Simply head to Membershipsselect the membership you wish to delete ➜ click the Delete button on the top right-hand side, and confirm.

The membership will be deleted, and it will no longer appear in your membership list.


🔧 Why Can't I Delete a Membership?

If you do not see an option to delete the membership, this is because there are customers that either currently own the membership, or the membership has had active customers in the past. When customers have owned the membership, it cannot be deleted because the membership data is needed for historical reporting purposes, such as revenue reports and membership reports.

If that is the case, you can change the status to Not for sale, so existing customers can still use it but no new customers can buy it.

💡 For steps on updating the For Sale / Not for sale status, see the guide here.

Note that if there are 0 active customers on the membership, but some customers have owned the membership in the past, you will find the not-for-sale membership behind a filter under Memberships:

⚠️ A membership set as a "call to action" target in a Pack Running Low notification cannot be deleted either, even if it otherwise was deletable (i.e. never had any customer memberships).

For more information on Pack Running Low notifications, see the guide here.


❓ Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

Find answers to common questions or additional details that may not be covered in the main instructions.

Click the arrow to view frequently asked questions

How can I view a report which shows me past memberships which have expired or been cancelled?

Click the arrow to see the answer

If you go to the Customer Memberships report, you can add a Status filter in order to display memberships which are no longer active. You can differentiate between Expired, Completed, Upgraded, and Downgraded too:

What happens to a membership I cannot delete once I mark it as not for sale?

Click the arrow to see the answer

Any existing customers who have the membership continue to be able to use it, but no new customers can buy it, and you cannot sell it on a customer's behalf either. Once the membership has 0 active customers, it moves behind the Show all memberships filter in your membership list, keeping your active list tidy while the data remains available for reporting.

Did this answer your question?