Why can't I delete my old memberships? Removing old packages. How to archive a membership.
In this guide, we're going to take a look at how to remove memberships you no longer need from your active memberships list. This can be done by deleting them if they've never been purchased or by archiving them if they had or have active members.
🎥 Video tutorial
📕 Written instructions
If a membership has never been purchased, it can be deleted instantly from the membership details page.
Simply head to Membership >> select the membership you wish to delete and finally click on the 'Delete' button you'll see on the top right-hand side and confirm:
The membership will be deleted and it won't appear in your membership list anymore.
Why can I not delete a membership?
If you do not see an option to delete the membership this is because there are customers that either currently own the membership, or the membership has had active customers in the past. If customers have owned the membership, you can't delete this because we need the membership data for historical reporting purposes i.e. revenue reports, membership reports.
If that's the case you may change the status to Not for sale so existing customers can still use it but no new customers can buy it. Please click here for our help guide on how to update for sale / not for sale membership status.
Note that if there are 0 active customers on the membership, but some customers have owned the membership in the past, then you will find the not for sale memberships behind a filter under Memberships:
A membership set as a "call to action" target in a Pack Running Low notification cannot be deleted either, even if it otherwise was deletable (i.e. never had any customer memberships). Please head over to this guide for more information on Pack Running Low notifications.