How to change your membership cancellation settings
Angel Horowitz avatar
Written by Angel Horowitz
Updated over a week ago

Recurring Memberships allow you to configure when and if customers can cancel their membership. You can also change the settings for each individual payment plan, should your membership have multiple payment plans.

How to update the cancellation policy on a Recurring Membership

To edit the cancellation policy on a Recurring Membership, head to Memberships >> Memberships >> click membership name >> click 'Edit' next to the payment plan and adjust the cancellation settings as needed.

The membership cancellation options are:

  • Only allow cancellation from the business dashboard which means that your customers will not be able to cancel their own memberships and will need to get in contact with you to cancel.

  • Allow customers to cancel with no notice, which means that customers can cancel their membership from their accounts at any point. Please note that the system will not refund any final payments. Therefore, if this option is selected, the system will simply default their end date to the end of their current billing cycle (so, for example, if they pay on the 1st of each month and cancel on the 15th of November, their end date will automatically be set as the 30th of November).

  • Allow customers to cancel with a minimum notice period which is the same as above, but you will then be prompted to enter the number of days notice you wish customers to give you. The number of days entered will be added to the cancellation date. If a payment is due during that time, the system will then default the end date as the end of the next billing cycle (e.g., using the example above, if a customer bills on the 1st of each month, cancels on the 15th of November and you have a 20 day notice period, the system will set their end date as the 31st of December instead because their next billing date falls within the 20 day notice period and as they'll be charged in full they'll be entitled to use the membership for that whole billing period too).

Note. Regardless of which option you choose, IF the membership billing plan has a minimum commitment period (such as 3 months minimum, for example) then the customer will not be able to cancel before the commitment is complete.

For example, if the customer cancels on the 15th of November, but they have a 6-month minimum commitment that does not end until the 31st of January, the customer may cancel, but the system will default the end date to the 31st of January and will continue billing them as normal until then.

Why can't I see the option to edit the cancellation policy on my recurring membership?

Please note that if the membership has a commitment, as seen below, you will not be able to edit the cancellation policy.

To achieve this, you'll need to cancel the existing payment plan (click 'Edit' next to the payment plan and set to 'For Sale -No, this payment plan can not be selected'), and then create a new payment plan with the desired cancellation settings.

It's also important to note that any customers on the old payment plan will remain on it until their membership expires or is cancelled.

Jump to:

Did this answer your question?